Joywave - Delmar Hall - St. Louis, MO - 09.16.24

KPNT 105.7 The Point Welcomes
Permanent Pleasure North America 2024


with Hunny

About Joywave

Cleanse is Joywave’s fourth studio album and is the follow-up to 2020’s Possession which released on March 13th 2020 as the world shut down. With a virus ravaging the world and no possibility of touring for the foreseeable future, Joywave frontman Daniel Armbruster was once again able to dig into his own psyche and see what surfaced. The 10 tracks that make up Cleanse were conceived, written and recorded in Armbruster’s home studio when “reminders of our fragile mortality were everywhere, punctuated by the ongoing pandemic and civil unrest,” he notes.   “Cleanse became the words, encouragement, and occasional cautions that I would want to share with you if this was the last time we spoke,” Armbruster reflects. Highlights on the album include the catchy and clever “Buy American, “ the introspective “After Coffee” which celebrates the pleasures of the mundane, the ambient groove of “Pray For The Reboot,” the brooding and expansive “The Inversion” and “Every Window Is A Mirror” which according to Armbruster recalls “our inability to understand the experiences of others.”


“This is the first time since Joywave has been a known entity that I can remember no one explicitly asking me to make a...

Read More

About Hunny

HUNNY was born out of the tight-knit North LA indie-rock scene of the mid-2010s, sharing stages and even band members with acts like The Neighbourhood and Bad Suns from an early age. On the back of a shimmering blend of new-wave sheen, shoegaze gloom and angular guitar rock – all underwritten with cheeky, California cool sensibilities – the childhood friends racked up millions of streams of their self-released 2015 EP, Pain/ Ache/ Loving, thanks to undeniable songs like the hit “Cry For Me.”

By the time the band had secured a record deal with legendary Epitaph Records and released their 2019 debut full-length, Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes., outlets like Alternative Press were hailing HUNNY – vocalist/guitarist Jason Yarger, guitarist Jake Goldstein, bassist Kevin Grimmett and drummer Joey Anderson – for their spin on “perfunctory electronic and new-wave pop, teeming with love, heartbreak, neuroses and impeccably sweet dancing shoes.”

“There was a production sheen to the album that was very cool,” Goldstein says proudly of Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes., which was produced by GRAMMY-winner Carlos de la Garza (Paramore, Best Coast) and launched HUNNY onto global tours with the likes of State Champs, Citizen and The...

Read More